Under Australian law, children must generally attend school from the ages of five to 15 years, but these ages may vary slightly in some states or territories. The government provides free education in public schools (students holding temporary visas may be required to pay full school fees).

Many students also attend private schools operated by some churches and other groups, but these students are required to pay fees for these schools.

The education system in Australia is open to all people. It offers an opportunity for all age groups and levels of ability.

Public schools are administered by state and territory governments and information on enrolments is available from state and territory education departments or local neighbourhood schools. There are two types of tertiary education programmes: those offered by institutions and industry in the vocational education and training (VET) sector, and those offered by universities and other higher education providers. Access to such tertiary courses may depend on the conditions of an applicant’s visa.

In some cases, the Australian Government pays most of the cost of tertiary places (known as Commonwealth–supported places), with the students paying the remaining cost. Tertiary students may also apply for the Higher Education Contributory Scheme (HECS) or Higher Education Loan Programme (HELP), which is available to eligible students enrolled in Commonwealth supported places. A HECS–HELP loan will cover all or part of the student contribution amount.

Further information online:
Department of Education

Studying in Australia

Australian Schools Directory


Source: Australian Department of Home Affairs

IMPORTANT: This information is accurate only at the time of publication.

About the Author Emma Drynan MARN0960361

Emma is the founder and principal migration agent at Freedom Migration. She is extremely passionate about uniting partners and families with their loved ones overseas. It might be because she's a product of a partner visa family.

follow me on: